The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

In the statement, it asserts that the optimum way for a society to nurture its young people for leadership in a myriad of fields is by inoculate in them a sense of cooperation instead of competition. In my point of view, this argument might hold true for preparation of young people who wish to work in the field of government and business but not art.

there are many qualities that a successful leader should own. Two of the most important quality, in my opinion, are creativeness and flexibility. when working as a group, a perfect environment for brainstorm will form, where all the people who being involved are able to see what others’ perspectives are. In other words, it is an efficient way to broaden and widen one’s vision and ways of thinking; when there are more ideas, the greater the possibility that a person are able to adroitly come up with the most suitable solution when facing different kinds of problems. In workplace such as government and business, flexibility is crucial since people, especially leaders, are going to tackle new problems every single day. Each problem has its own unique situation, thus leaders should have potent creativeness to come up with ideas also own flexible way of thinking to look at one problem from various aspects, and those are the abilities that teamwork can help ones to form. thus to strengthen young people in their sense of cooperation will definitely be advantages for their future leaderships in government or enterprises.

However, to be prepare for leadership in the field of art, the situation is completely different. A great leader in art industry is to have audacious thoughts, the strong-will to break the doctrine, to stands out from others, which makes cooperation less valuable. Claude monet, one of the most regarded painters in the field of art, was leading impressionism, the advent-grade art genre at his time. After monet, Van gogh, one of the greatest and most talented artists throughout the history, was the leader of post-impressionism. If there were no competition between the people who support the orthodox academicism and the people like Mona and gogh who had strong-will to create new genres of painting and who want to find a way to better express their feelings, then there will be no such thing as leader in field of art because everything created will be naturally accepted and will be seen as normal instead of novel.

In sum, the statement is tenuous because of its over-generalization between the definitions of leadership in various fields.