The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Some people think that the best method to teach young people to become leaders is instilling in them a sense of cooperation. I believe that, however, we should not ignore the benefit of the competition.

First of all, competition could have some positive influence. In the ecosystem, many biologists support that species compete with each other as the driving force of adaption the environment and eventually evolution. The strong individual creatures will survive at the end of the competition, and continue their gene to the next generation. The entire species would become strong and strong by the method over time. As a result, the group could expand its territory and have many advantages to fight with other species in the limited resource.

The discussion of the social perspective, competition can promote development in many aspects of fields and improve efficiency. For example, the development of the semiconductor is very fast. Many companies want to dominate in this field, so they have intense competition with one another such as Samsung, TSMC, and Intel. Many great technologies have been created like 12 nano, 10 nano, 7 nano, and 3 nano processes in the couples of years. Thanks to the development of these technologies, we can make electronic products so small and let our society so convenience.

Besides, competition not only will promote social development but also stimulate individual potential. For instance, according to the research conducted by the department of sports in our country, athletes perform better in the game than they do when they practice. The phenomenon has been stimulating many scholars, starting to discuss what caused the state. In fact, the contributing factor is in the fact that people have much more crisis in the competition, and such sense could increase their body generate much more power to finish the tasks. This case is not rare. Many countries have the same studies. Such would be direct evidence that bears witness to the fact that competition really has some benefit to us.

However, we also cannot neglect the negative effect which causes by the competition. Wasting scarcity resource and the conflict of interest by competition will sometime make the entire world do downhill. Thus, how to find the balance between competition and cooperation is another very important issue to us, which we should not ignore.

In summary, cooperation and competition are having the same importance in our society. When we focus on how to teach our children to cooperate with one another, we should not forget the benefit which competition will bring to us.