"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The prompt claims that it is through a sense of cooperation that a society can train its young people for a leadership role and not through competition. Agreeing to the point that cooperation is needed, but without the sense of competition, you cannot become a good leader. Thus, I mostly don't agree with this claim for the following reasons.

To begin with, a leader is someone to whom everyone else can look up to. He is supposed to be an exemplar. To be this good the person needs to have a sense of competition, as no one is born leader. He needs to have that fighting mentality to handle difficult situations and get his team out of it. For instance, players like Cristiano Ronaldo might have been just another footballer if it wasn't for his competitive nature as he pushes himself to the limit, trains the hardest and maintains his health even after how much he has won he still desires more, that sense of competition made him dominate football for more than a decade. When younger players join a team they look up to him wishing they can be half as good as him. The above example illustrates why competition is necessary for making a good leader.

In addition, the competition gives a motivation to grow and at the same time it creates fear to prevent you from doing any immoral thing. As in the case of politics, a ruling party leader is less likely to do any immoral thing, provided there is an opposition. Because he knows that if he does something which is not in the favor of the country, the opposing party will start creating an issue with it. But at the same time, it also motivates to do good things for the welfare of the people of a country, so that it will help that party to win in next elections.

However, cooperation is equally important as no leader can work without a team. A leader needs to know how to get the best out of every individual.

Concluding, I concur that although the sense of cooperation is one of the qualities which a leader should have, one can not exclude the sense of competition from it. Both are necessary for a leader to thrive in his job.