The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Leadership that is great, demands of the leader the quality of cooperation. But is becoming a leader possible without having a competitive spirit? In the fast-moving world, may it be any field; government, industry, or any other field; to become a leader, you must not only own the knowledge or ability, but also should have leadership qualities.

Some of the qualities a leader should have include integrity, cooperation, ability, knowledge of the specified field. The person should also know how to deal with kinds of people, should be able to take unwavering decisions. The leader should be able to take the responsibility, and not run away from them, even during the bad times. These qualities, if we are able to instill in children, right from their childhood would definitely create great leaders.

It is not just cooperation which make the leader great, we should guide the young generation to be keen towards new knowledge, learn new things, as a leader must be up to date with the latest trends and technologies coming up in their particular field. Though possessing all these characteristics, the person should have a fighting spirit, or have a competitive spirit, as just the behavior is not responsible for leadership.

And competition does not necessarily mean competing in a bad and deceptive way, we should incline the young generation towards "healthy" competition, a fair competition. And if there is fair and healthy competition between people, firms, or even nations, it necessarily does not harm or hinder anyone's growth. It definitely helps one to grow, and get the best out of them. For example, competing for the Cricket World Cup, all nations compete, but for the cause of winning things, and not to put somebody down.

Finally, on the concluding note, I would like to say, we should undoubtedly instill in our young generation, the sense of cooperation, but also we should instill in them a sense of healthy competition, as it is one of the major factors and characteristic that a leader should have.