The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by installing in them a sense of cooperation, not competition

The claim is a generalized one which states cooperation rather than competition is necessary for preparing the youth for leadership. According to me, a sense of competition is equally important for a person to posses good leadership qualities. it helps an individual to go the extra mile in order to win. Hardly anything is achieved when society is filled with discord, but cooperation alone would not help in getting the extra push that is needed in order to succeed in anything.

A good leader is expected to work tirelessly. competition makes working tirelessly somewhat easy, because the will to lead within the competition helps to ease the burnout. A good leader would cooperate and manage a team very efficiently, but if the competitive spirit is missing, it is highly unlikely that the team would achieve as much as its competition. installing a sense of competition is equally important because more amount work is done because of the desire to be better than one's competition.

In automotive industry, cooperation will help in making a car smoothly and distributing the work content evenly; but compettiion will help in manufacturing five cars instead of three which in turn would burgeon the profits. Similarly if we consider a government, cooperation might help in getting things done smoothly, but when it comes to achievements, installing a sense of competition is a necessity.

competition has two sides like a coin; brutal competition might lead to discontent in society or even riots and tumults, whereas a healthy competition will help everyone in the society improve. A healthy competition should exist where all the competitors improve by observing and adopting techniques which are beneficial to everyone. A leader needs to compete with others to along with observing achievements and accolades recieved by others. he or she needs to evaluate themselves and improve by learning and gaining insights from their respective competition.

In conclusion, my opinion states that installing a sense of healthy competition in a leader is as important as installing a sense of cooperation for him to improve and achieve better. A leader needs to know where he stands amongst the competition and work accordingly.