"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

With every generation, the youth of the country is the deciding factor in the development and success of that country. People at a young age are more energetic, more enthusiastic and more sympathetic towards the societal issues. In a country like India, the young people makes up the 70% of the population. With so much diversity around the globe, every country wants to make a statement out there, competing to be on the top. Yes, I believe the best way for a society, for a country to grow and lead in different sectors is by instilling a sense of cooperation in its young people.

The popular aphorism :"What you sow, so shall you reap" is perfect way of describing that whatever values we are instilling in our young genration today, that is what we will reap in future. The young people are novice and beginners and are still on the starting point of the life they are going to live. The different values like cooperation, self-love, confidence, helpful nature, kindness etc should be taught right from the time they join the schools.

Imagine a young boy always taught to do everything on his own and always taught to look out for the scores and the marks he get in schools/colleges,trying to be ahead of everyone. When he joins an IT organization as a software developer where he has to work with so many people right from the software testers, to mangers, to technical leads etc. It is definitely going to be difficult for him to ask help and provide help to others. He will try to complete the task in hand in a more competitive manner. This creates an unhealthy environment since you can't be always on the top. Being second can develop outrageous feelings in the person.

Better cooperation brings a healthy environment where people are helping each other to complete a task in hand, instills more confidence, kindness and better results for the inividual or the organization which in turn helps the country to move ahead.

We can see different examples where people cooperating with each other has helped produce better results like we see NASA and ISRO. Better cooperation has helped explore more about our planets and the space.

Therefore, I will like to conclude by saying that it's the cumulative responsibility of every individual to help instill better values and manners in our young generation.