The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The word cooperation when broken down as 'Co' 'operation' will highlight that it implies operate together. In any walk of life an individual does not operate alone but s/he operates with other people around operating as well. cooperation should be taught to the young people of the society so that they can live and execute harmonously in this world. However, a sense of competition should also be taught to the individuals so that they continue to progress and take the world forward.

Firstly, In any field of work there are numerous people who work together and an individual need to understand to work in a group. very few work can be executed in silo. there will mostly be situation where a group of people will be working together to achieve a common goal. In order to work effectively in a group of people it is very important that an individual has a sense of cooperation. consider the example of politics where in order to pass a bill in the congress representatives of different states and parties debate and finally cooperate to pass the bill and turn it into law.

Secondly, in a group setting if an individual does not have sense of cooperation then the individual will result in hindering the work or the final outcome. this can be understood by considering the example of an obstinate team member who is not willing to accept the proposal of team leader - team leader expects the team member to work on priority items first to meet deadlines but the team member wants to work on delivering a report which is planned to be shared 3 weeks from now. this lack of cooperation from the team member will put the deliverables at risk and the team will fail to achieve the short term goal.

Finally, cooperation is not the only quality which an individual should possess to be effective in any role. sense of competitiveness is also an important factor and should be imparted to young people. it is important that a leader is competitive to take an organization forward. if the leader lacks competency then growth of the leader and the organization which the leader is leading will not be sustained and will become complacent.

To conclude, cooperation with a right balance of competitive spirit will take an individual the distance and will help the organization which is led by that individual.