The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

There is a famous saying that “ the failure is the mother of the success” this failure and success will not happen if one is not independent. The prompt says that cooperation is considerably essential more than the competition to be a good leader; however, I strongly disagree with this point of view. Undoubtedly, competition is important for a successful leader but also to be a significant competitor is regarded as crucial for such a sensitive position for two reasons.

First of all, cooperation as a single criterion for leadership is not fair enough to prepare one to be a leader takes his own decisions and responsible for its consequences if those decisions are wrong. For example, if CEO of a company wants to release a new product in a new market, in such situation although taking the others’ opinion is important; but, the final decision would be from him because if this product does not achieve the desired sells, in this case, there should be someone is responsible for that mistake. The above example illustrates that the leadership somehow needs to a brave one as well as independent to be able to lead a big team or even a big company.

Further, competition comes first then cooperation to prepare an excellent leader as most of the ivy league universities doing. For instance, when someone wants to study in such super universities, one of the most important requirements for applications is competition. If one wants to apply in, for example, Harvard University; he should compete to be able to survive among hundreds and hundreds of applicants. Therefore, the first front anyone could face it to be a rival to achieve the first step to be a leader. In such a university, firstly it interests in competition to obtain the elite people who one day will be being prepared to be a senior or leader. Such leaders will be in charge of a team to conduct a clinical trial or to operate a vast country like President Obama; he was one of the graduations of Harvard and prepared fair enough to be a president by the same method or technique form of competition. Cooperation is essential but comes in the second step after one became mature enough and acquired a strong personality that leadership needs.

In conclusion, although cooperation is important and should society take it into account, competition is more important than it to produce an independent leader brave and able to lead a huge company or even a large country.