The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The modern environment and the foundations on which our present society is built upon constantly faces an uphill and daunting task of never ending problems. The ideological solution to these complex and convoluted problems requires the complete unification of the individuals in the society. To achieve a common motto or a goal or to find a solution to forthcoming problem in the future, we need to instill a sense of cooperation, team-spirit and togetherness in the present youth for them to solve the problems and make the future a more safe and happy place.

Let's take an example: Most of the valuable technological corporations and organizations in the world like Apple, Samsung, Google etc are all trying to provide us with services that make human life holistically a lot easier. But these organizations have a tremendous workforce behind them, that work and toil day and night to provide us with these services. The underlying point being stated that to accomplish a common goal laid out by these big companies or even being the most rudimentary work given to us by our superiors, to achieve it successfully we often end up working in groups or teams. The kind of work and bonding that happens in a group is far more appreciated and productive than that of an individual or egoist, who works only for praise.

Secondly, the kind of interaction, bonding and the ability to empathize with others, all of them can be learnt, understood and polished up while working under a great team. Modern researches that are working in this domain suggest that the learning that an individual person gets from his or her peers in the group he is working with, is far more substantial than that he may obtain when working solo. Working in a team , under the leadership of a great manager or team leader goes a a long way in one's professional life afterwards.

The argument made above has some reservations surrounding it, which when looked into form a significant aspect of human lives. Not everywhere in every scenario or various walks of lives do we need to associate ourselves in a group. Many individuals have worked single-handedly and accomplished a lot. For ex: Mahatma Gandhi, Martin Luther King, etc and many more sowed the seeds of freedom themselves and thus rose to the greatest ranks today. Competition is present and will be there in all walks of lives and in every profession always, but it is our responsibility to ensure that competition never overtakes or surpasses cooperation, which is essential for future success.

Thus in making and establishing the above claims, we can see that cooperation is the way forward and not competition. As long as competition is healthy and within certain limits it is beneficial.