The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry , or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

cooperation or competition - which will instill better leadership characteristics among youth?? The speaker says its this dispute. looking at them one by one - cooperation means working together to achieve a particular goal while competition means some kind of rivalry focussed towards a goal . The speaker is in the favour of cooperation, being a better source for providing required leadership skill, than competition. But I disagree with the speaker .

firstly,the word competition has its origin from the word compete which means a kind of fight (not physical)among people for achieving the best reward being given.Competition teaches oneself what victory actuallly is if there would be no competition noone would be running to win . take a small example - there is a race among ten students with a winning prize of gaming console. here we have only one gaming console as the prize .so only one student will be getting that. this prize arouse a sense of competition among them and they strive to do better than their counterparts. If we had same ten winning prizes for each one of them no one will compete and hence the individual skill of each of them wouldnot have come out .and victory would have no meaning .everyone would be a victor then.

similarly every team has a leader . the leader is one who can bind the team, guide them properly and help them achieve the success . so for this job we need an adroit human being.here we have to make sure that the best person fit for the job should get this job and to get the person everyone in the team should have a sense of competition if they dont have this sense then it will become impossible for us to judge the best person. so once they start competing among themselves they will always looks for ways to defeat their counterparts hence showing and improving their skills. and moreover if a team is having more than one leader then there would be ambiguity in decision making leading to failures.

competition is not only important in getting the best out of oneself but also in refining or policing the skill one already has. competition leads to innovations. suppose we have only one online shopping website. this makes the whole online shopping too conventional and boring and may be inefficient sometime because it has no competitor in the market .once we have several option to shop online each one of them will think of getting their sites on different platforms , getting new thing on their site to get better revenues than the other and hence some kind of regular innovation will happen.

Praising the word "competition ", I would not say that there is no meaning of cooperation in industries or government . As someone has truely said that "if you want to go fast go alone but if you want to go far go together". coopoeration always helps one to get the work done easily. cooperation, unity, reliance ,trust these are the binding materials of a team and every team need that to achieve good things.say a company where people always quarrel will have a bleak future as in contrast companies with cooperating employees have a great time ahead. but when it comes to the refinement of skill competition does the job better .

In sum, speaker is correct to his part in saying that cooperation is required for generating leadership skills among youth but i believe competition has its advantages over doing this job over cooperation . no doubt in long run both competition and cooperation is needed to run a industry or government efficiently.