The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Cooperation and competition are two different things with varied purposes. The issue states that cooperation is what a society needs to prepare young people for leadership in different fields rather than competition, and I agree with the statement. As cooeperation teaches us to help others selflessly and helps us to grow together in the society. Furthermore, it solves several socio-economic problems and so on, and these actually are the forthright qualites of a leader.

First, when one cooperate with others, he has to be mature and sociable. So it installs social qualities in one self that is needed to be a leader. A leader has to cooperate with many people of many characters. By cooperating with others one develops the quality to help others without expecting any gain which is the quality of a leader who helps his people selflessly.

Similarly, cooperation helps to grow a society together. A leader will grow wtih his allies , his subordinates and his people. Without growing thogether a society cannot achieve great heights. Like the late Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, who was the fronliner at the time in 1971 to liberate Bangladesh from Pakistan, also helped the nation to grow and tackle post war difficulties. Without cooperation it wouldn't be possible to overcome the post war issues for Bangladesh.

Also, cooperation solves many socio-economic problems which is essential for a nation. Like Child marriages in many Asian countries have been lessen largely because of the continual cooperation between the government and the people of those countries. So, one society cannot prosper or grow without the cooperation between the leaders and the people of that society.

On the other hand, one might say that competition develops winning mentality in oneself which is essential for a leader to go ahead, to defeat the opposition. It will make oneself enthusiastic to improve oneself to win the competition. But, this is flawed as a leader will then attempt illegal measures to win the competition. Also, people will select the leader if they think he has done great works for them and for the development of the society and nation. So, competition doesn't make you a strong leader, what makes is cooperation.

In conclusion, I would like to say that society should install cooperation in young people for making them good and versatile leaders as it teaches to help others impartially, helps to grow together as a society and solves numerous socio-economic problems that wouldn't have been solved without proper cooperation.