The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Leadership is not an easy task and it takes some courage and discipline to be a leader. A leader is someone who manages the people and resources of a particular place or system. The prompt suggests that the best way for a society is to prepare its young people for leadership by instilling in them a sense of cooperation and not competition. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this claim and argue that young people should be prepared for leadership by instilling a sense of cooperation and not competition for the following two reasons. However, there are situations where competition is necessary.

First of all, instilling cooperation in young people will help in developing the skill of teamwork. The role of teamwork and cooperation in any society cannot be overemphasized. Two heads they say is better than none. When a group of people come together with the aim of achieving a goal, it helps in the quick realization of that goal and other benefits such as friendship can be developed in the process. For instance, when a young person is prepared for leadership by instilling cooperation, the person when leading a project or making any decision would love everyone to be involved in the decision making process and can help the person identify some areas he or she would not have thought of on their own.

Second, instilling competition on the young people would have a negative effect on that society as each person would have different goals for the society which may not be sustainable. Also, the young people brought up in this way may take every process as a do or die affair. That is when a situation does not favour them, they will decide to bring the other person down through several bad means. For instance, a competitive young person leading a project in an industry would try to shut everyone out and receive all the praise for the success of the project even though he is not the most skilled member in the project group. Competition would result in great division among members of the society

Of course, some may argue that young people should be instilled with a sense of competition in preparing them for leadership as this will make everyone to be at their best. While this is true, it will have a negative effect in the long run as projects or situations that require people come together would be greatly affected. Hence a society that instills competiton in its young for leadership does so at its own peril.