The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation and not competition

Humans, like various other animals, are social beings. The direct result of this behaviour is the existence of civilization as we see today. Humans have been fairly successful in building things for the betterment of human civilization and the distinction is clearly visible when we compare the world existing in last century with the world existing in present time. All this has been possible only because of humans cooperating with each other. Consider a building. A team of people unite to construct it. Each person is doing a different job. We have engineers, architects, masons and others all cooperating with each other to achieve their only single objective.Similarly, consider any large organization. Let's observe the beginnings of Google. If Susan Wozcicinky wouldn't have joined as a marketing manager to cooperate with Larry and Sergey at the right time, it might not have reached the level of success it has reached now. It may be noted that Susan had initially only rented her garage to the cofounders but got interested seeing their work and hence decided to join.

Great things have seldom been done by lone wolves.Team work and coopeartion is the key. However, humans by nature are competetive.They have been competing against one another for basic needs like food and shelter. They have fought wars to capture land. Inthe present context, people are competing with each other for authority. This nature of humans will remain and it should remain. The competetive spirit only needs channelization because it is supposed to bring out the bestout of people. Burning desire generated due to competition compels people to put extra effort. However, it is to be noted that people in a unit should not compete against one another to fulfil their personal aspirations which may be very different from the collective goals of the unit.

Hence to work in an organized society, it can be said that each individual with his unique talents must cooperate with another individual having some other talent. We also need to keep in mind that each person is appreciated for playing their part. This in turn will increase further cooperation.