The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

When teaching, it is always important to know how to react to student behaving badly or doing things wrong. Students might be impacted for the rest of their life by how negative actions are being handled by a teacher. Negative actions should not be ignored, as it will show to students what is wrong and what are the consequences.

First, only praising positive actions would not allow students to understand the difference between positive and negative actions. Students need to understand what is right and what is wrong and why, in order to make the difference between the two and be able to better themselves. Ignoring negative actions would be similar to ignoring half of the material to be taught. For example, when learning how to write an essay, it is important to see what is a good example but also what is a bad example to understand what is wrong and how it could be improved.

Secondly, ignoring negative actions means there are no consequences for doing something wrong. In real life, there are always consequences for wrong behaviors and students, especially younger one, need to understand that. For example, in primary school, if someone is being bullied, it is important to punish the bullies. Indeed, twenty years later, the consequence could be jail time. Learning at a young age that there are consequences for negative actions is an important life lesson.

However ignoring negative actions can also be important when the objective of the negative action is only to draw attention, especially when the students are young. In these cases, students need to understand that only positive actions will allow students to shine in a class.

To conclude, it is important to always show positive and negative actions when teaching as it is important for student to understand why negative actions are wrong but also that there are consequences for negative actions.