The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

THE BEST WAY TO TEACH

Positives and negatives are complementary in one’s life. Every human being has their own strengths and weaknesses. It is important for each individual to analyse their qualities and take necessary action. I believe that while it is important to appreciate one’s positives in order to motivate and encourage them to progress, it is equally important to make them aware of their negatives to help them improve themselves to ensure they are part of the creamy layer of candidates.

A person with a set of good qualities along with one serious bad quality would always be identified by the society for the single bad quality and not for the umpteen good qualtites. Gone are the days when people overlooked negatives gave people chances to prove themselves based on their skills. Consider an earthen pot for easy comprehension of the concept prevalent in society. The pot may be beautiful to look at, may have a considerably good capacity, may have cooling effects and may also be easy to carry. However, if this pot with all these positives has a small hole in it, it is the hole that would get all the importance. All the positives would be side-lined because of the one negative quality that the pot has a defect. We notice that despite the pot having so many attractive features, the small hole makes it unworthy of use. Likewise, in life the society always looks through the positives and highlights the negatives. This is not wrong because the single negative quality could negate the effect of all the positives. In the above case, if the hole in the pot is sealed, the pot would become a viable resource again. Hence, it is important to overcome negatives to be able to shine in the respective fields. For this, letting the person be aware of their negatives is quintessential.

The world is becoming more and more competitive by the day. Hence, for any given task, people have a plethora of choices for them to choose from. Job recruitment processes are the simplest instances that can explain the situation. Till a few years back, when there was a requirement of five employees, the available resources were only about ten or fifteen in number at the most. This was a selection process. However, in today’s scenario, for a vacancy of five positions, over 400 resources are available. Hence, recruitment has become an elimination process. This is because, of the 400 applicants, most of them may have great academic and professional records. The organisation shortlists and eliminates candidates based on the small negatives and demerits they possess. Hence it is extremely essential to correct one’s negatives in order to stand a good chance to be successful in all walks of life.

In conclusion, I reiterate that it is not just enough to praise someone for their positives, but it is also necessary to make them aware of their negatives in order to help them develop themselves. The simple examples stated above are enough proof to elaborate the same.