The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

The best way to teach is to inspire the students to try out new things and to build up their character that is dauntless, they do not fear failure. This gives them a really strong advantage and can easily outline students’ interests and disinterests. It all begins with the teacher, having been a student himself, it should dawn upon him the peculiarities of his predecessor so he/she can improve upon it and not commit the same mistakes.

A teacher that is supportive, enthusiastic and palatable will reflect his personality onto his pupils. This will not only encourage the students but unknowingly the master has begun to pave the way for future successes. In return, the student will come to respect what his mentor has done for him over the years and come to revere him. This would not be an immediate effect as young students tend to misinterpret their teacher’s supportiveness as pompous and intrusive, but as a growing adult comes to slowly realize the importance of his parents' support and sacrifice, so will the teacher become an integral part of his family.

This doesn’t mean that a mentor can favorite out the best among their pupils, it denigrates the character of the mentor and discourages the left out students. Not all students are at an equal intellectual and emotional capacity, each student has to be approached in a different way and the teacher that puts in this extra effort becomes part of the elite few. Having experienced this first hand, the various teachers at my school would seldom reach out to their students and truly impact their lives. Most of us would form our own groups to support each other. The few who were left out would fall into two categories- the autodidacts and the recidivists.

It is the duty of the mentor to correct a student’s faults so it is not repeated again, but in a way that doesn’t discourage them to keep trying. Extreme strictness against a child would provoke them to effacement from which it would be difficult to reach them.