The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Teaching is the process of inculcating good habits and eliminating good ones. Life is a series of actions that are both positive and negative and the process of learning involves removing the negative ones as we move forward. The prompt asserts that the best way to teach is to praise good actions and ignore negative ones. I agree that positive actions must be praised, however, I strongly disagree that negative actions must be ignored. I support my stand with the following major reasons.

The primary reason why negative actions must not be ignored is because of the fact that a child may not necessarily know what a negative action is and what it means. A child picks up habits and actions from its surroundings and it does not know whether they are good or bad. Therefore, it is the responsibility of the teacher, may it be in school or at home, who have to ensure that a child learns about what constitutes a good action. For instance, a child may notice certain people throwing litter on the road and it may start doing the same. It does not know that this is a negative action, and must not be done. Thus, a parent or a teacher must explain to the student what the action means so that the child will not do it again.

Pointing out negative actions and correcting them also results in strengthening of conscience of the child. If a negative action is not reprimanded, then the person committing the action is likely to belive that his actions do not have any negative consequences. Though people may argue that their conscience will prick them and stop them from doing it, I believe that only when negative actions are pointed out, it assigns the people with a sense of responsibility for their actions. This will result in strenghtening of their conscience and will prevent them from doing so in the future.

Extending on the previous point, if negative actions are ignored, then the tendency to repeat them arises. For instance, if a child is cheating in his/her exam and no action is taken if spotted, it is only likely that it will commit the act again, since there was no negative effect of their action. Only if it is pointed out, it will instill a sense of fear in the child that a bad action will have bad effects for him/her. Also, when negative actions are reprimanded, then we essentially target the root and eliminate the problem in its nascent stages. This will surely improve the holistic development of the child.

Learning is largely a feedback mechanism. When good acts are praised, it gives a sense of accomplishment and an incentive to keep performing good acts. When positive acts are praised, then it motivates them to do better. Similarly, when negative actions are reprimanded, then it provides them with incentives to not repeat the act. Therefore, a child must not only be appreciated for the right behaviour, but also be told about the places where he/she is going wrong. This is the essence of teaching