The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and
explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific
circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how
these examples shape your position.
The recommendation presents a view that I would agree is successful most of the time, but one that I
cannot fully support due to the “all or nothing” impression it gives.
Certainly as an educator I agree fully that the best way to elicit positive response from students is to
make use of students’ positive energy and then encourage actions that you would like to see repeated.
It is human nature that we all want to be accepted and achieve on some level, and when people in
authority provide feedback that we have done something well, the drive to repeat the action that was
praised is bound to be particularly strong.
This blanket statement would obviously pay dividends in situations in which a teacher desires to
have students repeat particular behaviors. For example, if an educator is attempting to teach students
proper classroom etiquette, it would be appropriate to openly praise a student who raises his or her
hand when wishing to speak or address the class. In such cases, the teacher may also help shape
positive behaviors by ignoring a student who is trying to interject without approval from the teacher. In
fact, the decision to ignore students who are exhibiting inappropriate behaviors of this type could work
very well in this situation, as the stakes are not very high and the intended outcome can likely be
achieved by such a method. However, it is important to note here that this tactic would only be effective
in such a “low-stakes” situation, as when a student speaks without raising her hand first. As we will
discuss below, ignoring a student who hits another student, or engages in more serious misbehaviors,
would not be effective or prudent.
To expand on this point, it is important for teachers to be careful when working with the second half
of this statement, only ignoring negative actions that are not serious. Take for instance a student who is
misbehaving just by chatting with a fellow classmate. This student might not be presenting much of a
problem and may be simply seeking attention. Ignoring the student might, in fact, be the best solution.
Now assume the negative action is the improper administering of chemicals in a science experiment or
the bullying of a fellow student. To ignore these negative actions would be absurd and negligent. Now
you are allowing a problem to persist, one that could potentially lead to much bigger and more
dangerous issues. In a more serious situation, addressing the negative actions quickly and properly
could stop the problem it in its tracks. It is for reasons like this that I do not advocate the idea that a
teacher can be successful by simply ignoring negative actions.
I do, however, greatly support the idea that the central focus of teaching should be to build on and
encourage positive actions. However, the author’s all-encompasing statement leaves too many
negative possibilities for the classroom. Perhaps a better way to phrase this statement would be to say,
“The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones that are not debilitating to
class efficiency or the safety of any individual”.
Thus, in the original statement, there are indeed some good intentions, and there could be a lot of
merit in adopting its basic principles. Data proves that positive support can substantially increase
motivation and desire in students and contribute to positive achievements. In fact, most studies of
teaching efficacy indicate that praising positive actions and ignoring negative ones can create a more
stable and efficient classroom. It needs to be stressed, however, that this tool is only effective at certain
levels of misbehavior. As mentioned above, when the behavior is precipitated by feelings of revenge,
power or total self-worthlessness, this methodology will likely not work. It is likely to be very successful,
however, when the drive behind the misbehavior is simple attention seeking. In many of these
instances, if the teacher demonstrates clearly that inappropriate behavior does not result in the gaining
of attention, students are more likely to seek attention by behaving properly. Should the student choose
this path, then the ignoring has worked and when the positive behavior is exhibited, then the teacher
can utilize the first part of the theory and support or praise this behavior. Now it is much more likely to
be repeated. If the student does not choose this path and instead elects to raise the actions to a higher
level that presents a more serious issue, then ignorance alone cannot work and other methods must be
employed.
In conclusion, one can appreciate the credo expressed in this instance, but surely we all can see
the potential error of following it through to the extreme.