The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The statement here argues on the principle of teaching and its nature. It advocates in favor of teaching where it is best to only acknowledge and appreciate the qualities and positive actions of the student, while the weaknesses and short-comings should be ignored. This will definitely ensure that the student knows and can boast about his strengths and would not know anything about his weaknesses.

Is this the correct way of teaching ? In my opinion, definitely NOT. If a student does not know anything about his weaknesses, how would he improve himself ? As it is said - “Mistakes and failures are the doors to success”. But if a learner is not made aware of his mistakes, and allowed to live in his own bubble of what he is good at, there is no way he can do better. He would definitely develop a false sense of superiority, and a presumption that he is the best. But this ignorance both from the teacher and himself will do more bad than good.

To explain this, I would like to give a retrospective example of my own. Back in primary school, I had a pathetic handwriting, something that everyone aspire to be good at, even in this digital age. Nonetheless, there was no way I could have become better in that, had my dad not criticized my every single piece of writing. That criticism discouraged me in beginning, but eventually was best motivation to improve my weakness. Not to mention, here I am, with my handwriting counted among best of the lot.

The example illustrates the power of criticism. Once an Indian Poet Kabir Das truly said - “Make your critics your best friend”. Now I realize why is it so. One who derides and belittle your work, initially does demotivate the very spirit from inside, and make us feel inferior. But subsequently, it becomes the best source of encouragement, that exhorts the spirit to put all the energy and getting rid of those weaknesses and improving over it.

Furthermore, the best way is still not the very opposite i.e. only criticism and not even geniune appreciation. A good teacher will try to maintain a true balance of the two. Acknowledging strengths of the student that will help him improve it even more and at times, reminding him of what he is lacking using constructive criticism that will motivate him to work on those short-comings.

In conclusion, I want to say Missile man of India Late APJ Abdul Kalam, had not become the greatest scientist in the history of India, if he were not criticised badly by his own father on how dull he is Mathematics. Hence, life is the path for improvement given that the teacher instead of ignoring the negativity in the student, attempts to make him realize it and help him work on it become successful.