The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Praising positive actions and ignoring negative actions is not the best way to teach, in today’s society. Praising good behavior can have its benefits, but ignoring bad behavior enables the student to continue said bad behavior. Ultimately, the risks of ignoring negative actions outweigh the benefits of praising positive actions.

Ignoring negative actions, while teaching, does not provide any discipline for the student. If there is no discipline or punishment for negative actions, the student may continue these actions because he/she knows they can get away with it. For example, if students speak out during class without raising hands, and the teacher does not reinforce the rule of raising one’s hand to speak, chaos can occur in the classroom. Eventually, no student will raise their hand, and the teacher may have no control over his/her classroom. It teaches the students no valuable life lessons, like manners or how to handle circumstances outside the classroom. In the future, the students who were not reprimanded for speaking without raising his/her hand, may interrupt others, or be impatient to speak their mind because they were taught this is okay.

The classroom can become chaotic and reckless, if no discipline is instituted by the teacher. Students will continue to perform negative actions as long as they are allowed to. If a negative behavior such as bullying occurred in the classroom, and the teacher ignored this, bigger problems could accumulate. The bully may not scolded for this kind of behavior, and other students watching this behavior may think this is normal, or okay to do to others. As a teacher, it is his/her job to account for the safety and well-being of each student, and ignoring such actions is ignoring his/her job description.

It can be disputed that praising positive actions can have its benefits. For example, if a student is praised for kindly raising his/her hand before speaking, this could reinforce good behavior. On the other hand, if a student is praised for the positive action of performing the highest on a test, this could discourage other students who performed poorly. This could impact the students’ self esteem in a negative manner. Students may begin to believe that they aren’t good enough to receive praise in the classroom or anywhere else.

In conclusion, the results that come from ignoring negative actions will outweigh the benefits of praising positive actions. Praising positive actions may not always conclude with positive results, and ignoring negative actions will never have an auspicious outcome.