The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

A teacher is someone who gives you a sense of right or wrong; It may be your school teacher in the most putative sense, it may be your parents or friends or for that matter any one whom you learn something from- may not even be a person altogether!

Just as there is no white without black and no light without darkness, a person will not be aware of his positive actions if he is unaware of his faults or negative actions per se.

Therefore, I strongly believe that the best way to teach is to give equal - if not more – importance to keeping negative actions in check.

We are well aware that teaching and parenting are considered to be two of the most daunting professions/positions, and this is not unreasonable. The reason is that a teacher is bound by the responsibility of keeping a very sensitive balance between the “carrot” and “stick”- praise a student too much and they may get spoilt, ignore their faults too much and they run the risk of becoming under-confident or defiant.

Let us consider a few very common occurrences.

As parents of a child, one of the numerous roles that ought to be played is the role of a teacher, right from birth. From teaching how to walk to inculcating good values in the kid, for that child to emerge as a good human being. But, if the parents merely praise the child and ignore the child’s mistakes, will that be in the benefit of the child in the long run? Sure, the child will be very happy that it has such “cool” parents – who never say “anything”, but this will do more bad than good. The child will have no sense of what is wrong and is sure to make bigger mistakes and end up in jeopardy.

Similarly, in school, a good teacher is not the one who simply praises you, but also makes sure to tell you what is wrong, whenever you are at fault.

It is always better to nip a problem in the bud rather than ignoring it and letting it grow into a weed that will sadly only prove counterproductive later.

A mind that is attuned only to positive feedback is sure to fall prey to criticism when it is least expected.

For example, a child who has always been praised at home and never been corrected

Surely, the criticism must be meted out very constructively- in a manner that encourages the child to not repeat such actions in the future, but ignoring is definitely not the solution. It can be safely said in this case that ignorance is NOT bliss. One must be aware of one’s faults, in order to emerge better the one own self, let alone others.

It is therefore of paramount importance that praising an individual for his good actions is only one side of the coin. Making the person aware of his fallacies is the perfect complement and makes teaching wholesome in the true sense.