The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Teaching is a very nuanced part of animal, and specifically human behaviour. It is well known that there is not a “best” way, but only “better” ways, of helping another to learn an action. This assertion, that praising positive and ignoring negative actions is optimal, is therefore hard to base on any universal evidence. Though components of this hypothesis are certainly true, such as the importance of praising positive actions, there are some times where, punishing negative actions is just as important.

The importance of praising positive actions can be seen clearly in the example of potty training in children. To get a child to use the potty, a parent cannot reprimand their toddler for not urinating where they should, as this decreases the level of comfort and trust needed for potty-training. Conversely, praising one’s child provides an incentive to continue to use the potty, helping their child feel encouraged to persevere and continue trying to learn in an uncomfortable situation. It is this positive attitude, necessary for learning, that cannot be reinforced by punishment, and must be created by positive reinforcement.

Similarly, the importance of trust in a teacher-student relationship is evidence for the effectiveness of praising positive actions. For example, when training an animal, punishing bad behaviours often leads to the animal’s mistrust and anxiety, hampering their learning by causing unnecessary stress. Praising positive actions increases trust, by allowing the learner to see the teacher as somebody who cares for them. This trust, in turn, allows a learner to be less cautious of the teacher’s motives and personality, helping the animal to allow themselves to be shaped and molded by the teacher.

While praising positive actions has not inherently negative consequences, ignoring negative ones can. When teaching manners, it is not sufficient to simply praise positive actions, but also to extinguish negative actions. Ignoring negative actions can develop bad habits and decrease the learner’s propensity for growth. The leaner must surely be praised for, say, holding a fork in the left hand and a knife in the right, but if the opposite is not noted, then there is no incentive to change.

Additionally, while small bad habits may be ignored without major consequences and may even help the teacher to gain trust and a positive attitude from the learner, some actions are too perilous and dangerous to ignore. If they are ignored, the action may eventually be detrimental to the learner and potentially others, as in the case of teaching a friend not to drink and drive.

Overall, it can be deduced that while commending positive actions is beneficial and usually necessary for learning an action, ignoring negative actions is not as unequivocally effective. Ignoring negative actions, while sometimes lending positive results, can lead to bad habits and even dire consequences.