Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

It has been often said that change is the only constant. Be it any field in the world today - science, business, politics - it is truer, now more than ever, that change is the only indicator of progress, that man must certainly keep evolving with the ever changing times or risk falling into a period of stagnation and stasis. The question of whether those in power should keep their power forever is an interesting one - for it forces us to think about how the influence of the right leadership helps mankind move forward, or holds it backward in their fixed social constructs. I mostly agree that a periodic change in leadership is an indicator of revitalization and change, and that those in power should step down after a period of five years to make room for new leadership.

First of all, having new individuals take up the role of leadership every five years also infuses new blood and vitality among those in charge. These candidates are often smarter, more canny and perceptive of the needs of the people. For instance, an older leader is not likely to keep abreast of new advances in technology, which keeps taking giant steps every year. But a younger, smarter individual who might replace them after five years would have their finger on the pulse of the nation. Their perspicacity may prove useful in recognizing the dangers of cybersecurity and bring out reforms to enhance online privacy. The same applies to business, science and education too - bringing changes in the leadership every five years affords the nation an oppportunity to be lead by canny individuals who are more up to date on current trends which can be implemented and bring about great changes in their respective fields.

Second, limiting the tenure of office makes great leaders accountable to their people, and galvanizes them into doing their best work. Today, one cannot fail but notice that more often than not, political races are often strife with demagogues wooing the people into voting for them - once elected, they usually do not act upon their promises. Their web of subterfuge and corruption often affords them a large number of votes, and subsequent re-election. This vicious cycle continues year after year - never changing, never evolving. On the other hand, if a fixed policy of limited tenure in office is implemented, the only candidates to compete will be those with a sincere wish and fervent zeal to work only towards the welfare of the people, and not to further their own selfish motives. Such leaders are likely to have only one goal in mind during their five years in office - to serve the people and be the best leader possible for their people. Void of selfishness, such individuals can go a long way in eradicating social evils and initiating great reforms.

However, like every coin as two sides, these changes can also prove deleterious if not implemented properly. Changes in the current leadership may not be a good idea if there is a lack of capable individuals to take their place. Electing an unexperienced candidate just for the sake of the policy is extremely harmful. Placing power in the wrong hands would then not just affect those in that particular field - but might even affect the nation. In those cases, a good alternative would be set a precedent in place to allow re-election for leaders who perform extremely well. However, unless this is properly enforced using an objective process, the disdadvantages may far outweight the benefits.

In conclusion, I do agree that the surest path to success to move forward as a species lies in constantly evolving and adjusting to the needs and expectations of the society. Periodic revitalization through new leadership is not only healthy, but affords any field today the chance to make greater strides and advances than ever before.