Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

The issue suggests that leaders of various organizations should relinquish their power after 5 years. And backs it by claiming that new leadership is vital to success of any organization. Although this reason is valid for the argument but in my opinion the argument is indefensible.

When a new leader is elected in government or any other organization his employs a policy and has some objective for the organization. For example the manifesto of a presedential candidate. These objective takes time to be fullfilled. Imposing a limit on time a leader can work can end up in incomplete development tasks. It can also make haphazard implementation which are not sustainable. For example, a leader who promised reduce air pollution in a region by certain amount may actually not be able to fullfill this objective in five years.

Second reason is that frequent switching of government may actually harm progress of an organization due to conflicting policies of leaders. One leadership follows certain policy and works upon it for five years but then a new leadership comes and discards that policy and employs a completely new policy. Even new leadership may put efforts and resources to remove the old one. This is clearly squandering of resources. Instead some other measures should be taken that may allow existing leadership to continue if its work is effective or leave it it is not, such as election.

Employing such policy may harm the zeal with which the leadership works. If a leader knows that he has to give up after five years he may not put strong efforts for the betterment of the orgnization. It can also happen that less people come forward for the leadership. A policy which allows a leadership to continue after five years if it can prove it has done good work can force it to work so that it can serve the next term. Such policy revitalizes the enterprise when needed and avoids unneccessery switch in leadership.

In conclusion, new leadership can correct mistakes and revitalize the organization. However, requiring them to give up after five years may have adverse effects and completely forfiet its very purpose and devitalize the organization.