Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Giving educational institutions responsibility to advise students sounds a good idea to me. Though there can be problems in proper implimetation of it but institute can be a good guide to students.

Every year many students join programs and courses which they end disliking. Many students then choose different carrier path than their major in education. Students sometimes choose area which they may not fully aware of, They simply choose it because job prospects in that area are high or their parents force them to such areas. These students end up not performing well or even worse dropping out of colleges. such instances waste their money and other resources. They could have succeseded in other areas if proper guidance to them would have given to them.

Institute are actually are in good postion to tell whether a student will succeed in particular area or not. They have records of past students of similar profile and interest. This suggestions can not always be true but they can still serve to give students a different view when deciding their area of study. Actually many university websites and other resource give suggestions that students interested in this area may take this course. Proper counselling can guide students in deciding their area of study. Many a times students themselves can't decide what course is good for them and end up taking wrong courses.

On the other hand institute may not fully know the capabilities and weakness of students and give them wrong advise. A student can be really determined to go some field even though his past profile does not support it. Institute can also deliberatedly suggest students to pursue some course whose fee is high or some course whose enrollment is less irrespective of the profile of the student.But in that case it is always upto the student to decide the course. But institute may at least give them more information to work with.

In the end, the suggetion is viable and ccan be benificial to both students and society if properly implemented. Institute can advise students in deciding their area of study if they thoroughly study his/her profile. However, it should always be upto the student to decide.