Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

The issue suggests to keep wilderness in that natural habitat and not to use that area for economic development. As animals are constantly loosing their natural habitat it is very important to give them the environment thay can survive in. However, smaller countries which are actually economically poor may find it unacceptable to refrain development in such areas, I believe that are solutions this problem and animals should not loose their natural habitat.

In the past couple of centuries, industrial development has seen great increase. Human population has also surpassed seven billion mark. To provide shelter to human and get more raw materials for industries more and more forests are being utilized. The percentage of forests on land has drastically reduced. This has resulted in wilderness loosing their natural habitat. Many species have become extinct. The spicies who eat them have lost their source of food. This has created imbalance in the entire food chain. This imbalance may also effect humans. Utilizing more such land for economic gain will exacerbate this situation.

As far as economic gain is concerned, most of the countries have unutilized land where developing industry won't effect much to the wild. But these are rural where establishing industry is expensive due high transportation cost or taxes. Government should provide infrastructure and financial incentives to industries to establish there. Also places where wilderness lives can also be developed in such a way that does not harm animals. For example, they can be developed as national parks for tourist. This saves animal's natural habitat as well as gives economic gain and is sustainable development in true sense. For example, south africa earns a good amount from kruger national park and attracts tourists from all over the world.

On the other hand, there are certain countries which are economically poor and have less land for industry. They may clearly find the idea of not utilizing land for economic inappropriate. But they are already rich with the wild life, and can utilizing a certain amount of land for economic gain. This will not have much adverse effect on wilderness. But more than a certain threshold will actually put the wilderness at risk and such development may provide immidiate economic gain will not be sustainable.

Concluding, In most of the countries it should not be allowed to harm wilderness for the sake of economical gain except some cases. Alternate places or options should be taken to provide wilderness their natural habitat.