Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

The statement asserts that educational institutes should encourage their students to study in fields will prepare them for lucrative careers. While there are careers that are more economically beneficial to others but there are many other factors that make a career lucrative. In my opinion the it is a good idea but hard to implement may not turn out be viable.

Education is becoming costly. Many students take loans to study. It is valid to expect reward from the career they choose. Institutions can help them in this regard. Institution are in best place to place know the most lucrative careers. If the students opt for such career then it is beneficial for them as well as it add up to the progress of the nation.

However, in that case certain fields will be thronged by students, and certain careers will face a dearth of them. This can create imbalance in diversity of careers. A nation will lack experts of certain field. One more problem is that even though a career is lucrative it may not fit a student's abilities and that students may fail in that career.

Other problem is that the defination of lucrative is subjective.What is a lucrative career? Many definations can be given, for some the one which gives more money, for some it is one which is safe, for some which adventures. In this case how an institution can give advise or encourage a student to take a career? The institution have to carefully analyze a student's interests. But then the student may not have the capability to pursue it. In short, even if institution are allowed to encourage students to pursue a particular career then question of for which career they should encourage?

The other problem with the idea is that institutions can not always be trusted to give the right advise to students. For example, they encourage to opt for fields that are more beneficial to them and not to students such those having high fees or low enrollment. Government institutions can be influenced by government to advise students to go in fields more beneficial to their agenda or prohibit them to take certain fields .

Concluding, encouraging students to pursue lucrative fields seems beneficial for students but there flaws and practical implementation related problems. Such a scheme can imbalance the society or harm the diversity of careers.