Claim: Any piece of information referred to as a fact should be mistrusted, since it may well be proven false in the future.

Reason: Much of the information that people assume is factual actually turns out to be inaccurate.

The statement asserts that any fact currently known can be misproved in future and hence it should not be trusted. There are examples in history where a previously held facts and beliefs were proven false. However, the statement is extreme and such generalization in my opinion is wrong and indefensible.

A fact has support of evidences or observation. When a new research is made and facts are asserted it is always supported by experiments or theoritical proofs. These evidence proves new theories and facts. A fact that is false can actually never be proved by mathematical calculation. Hence, facts that are based on mathematical proofs are never false. Facts that are based on observation or experiments can be false only when there are errors in observation or assumptions made in experiments are false.

Also, when a new theory is published it passes through rigorous scrutinization of scientific or other related community. There are always critics of it, who try to prove it false but if the fact passes through this scrutinity then it means attempt or experiments made to prove it false have failed. And hence it is most likely true.

Facts are in most cases continueosly scrutinized. When a new research is done it is based on previously known facts. These facts are considered to be true. So if a fact is false a new research which is based on it will most likely fail. But if it succeeds then the fact or theory is most likely true. This process in turn proves the fact to be true. In short, if a fact is false it won't take more time to be proven false.

On the other hand, there are some examples in history which support the idea of mistrusting the facts. For example, it was believed previously that earth is in center of universe. This fact had scientific and religious backing at the time. However, in future it was proved to be false. If it were not scrutinized and questioned we would never come to know about the true formation of universe. Many other scientific theories have also been proven to false. But they were mostly based on non-scientific or inadequate evidences. Any fact or theory that has proper evidence or proof can not be proven false.

Concluding, theories and facts that has questionable evidence are prone to be proven false but facts that are asserted by proper research and proofs should be trusted are most likely to be true.