Claim: Any piece of information referred to as a fact should be mistrusted, since it may well be proven false in the future.

Reason: Much of the information that people assume is factual actually turns out to be inaccurate.

True information and fact are basic requirements in this twenty-first century because human beings tend to act according to fact that they imbue from environment. If forged information is disseminated as fact in any society, it may invite chaos or any other detrimental consequences. For that reason, it is mandatory to cast doubt on any information that is provided to us as fact, because only fact-checking habit can help in getting true information. There are number of reasons that can prove any information provided as fact in the present may prove false in the future.

Firstly, any fact that is provided at present may have been imposed on us by our society as true, so repeatedly that we tend to believe it as true, without giving any considerations. Black people before emancipation, for instance, were considered to be inferior by society; they were regarded as evil by birth. This lie was told so often in white society that it had become a fact there; nobody could be convinced to consider blacks as their equal. Even Hitler once said, “The only way to prove things right is tell the lie so frequently that it becomes a truth”. Using this tactics he was able to kill thousands of Jews deeming them inferior. Had people mistrusted these facts and checked them properly, it would have saved thousands of lives of black and Jews population.

Similarly, sophistication of technology also plays a central role in determining how well the fact is true at present. There are several theories and facts that were proposed few centuries back, when the availability and quality of technology was not same as it is at present. This made many of such facts and theories very ill-equipped based on very fragile evidence, and which proved to be wrong eventually after the invention of several sophisticated technology. Few centuries back, for example, scientist believed that they had located a small planet named Vencular in a close proximity with mercury, but after the invention of sophisticated device that could locate objects in far-flung areas of universe, it was found that the object actually didn’t exist. Therefore, it is necessary to cast doubt on every facts, given the sophistication of technology is proving many of the historical findings wrong.

In the same way, any information (facts) that are provided to us might be so biased that it would do no harm to question their inherent verity. Most of the studies at present times seem to be deductive – it studies certain part and describes the whole. For instance, most of the people who are conducting terrorism activities are muslims, and this fact is supported by many studies, but there are certain fact-providers who tend to say that all muslims are terrorists. It is very irrelevant to generalize the whole population based on study of specific ones. Who knows a vigorous study of Muslim population might prove this fact wrong in the future.

Finally, though facts are true most of the times, we cannot blithely accept anything as fact, as they can be biased, limited in scope or simply imposed to us. It is always better to check and doubt information before we accept anything as fact.