Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

The issue is regarding prioritizing between the immidiate problems and problems anticipated to occur in future. Governments are bound to solve problem a nation faces, whether they are occuring near future or after several years. In my opinion, immidiate problem should enjoy high priority but anticipated problems can not be neglected. However, it largely depends on severety of the problem, probability of occurance and amount of effort required to solve them and not the time of its occurance.

Many nations face problems such as hunger and unemployement. It should be the highest priority of their government to face such problems. Funds and resources should to be utilized to curb such problem. A government that sidesteps such problems and focuses on issues that are yet to occur or may not even occur in future, will fail. Basic needs of citizens,curbing corruption, decreasing crimes are some issues that should always receive highest priority. Any policy which ignores them won't efficiently work. Jobless and starving citizens won't care about a plan to send humans to moon or mars. Such plans are a waste government's money and resources.

On the other hand, there are issues which are anticipated to occur in future, but their severety is high. These issues may require long term planning or building infrastructure for a long period. For example, some experts believe that humans may have to leave earth because it may no longer remain habitable. Such problems however not immitdiate, but require long term planning and efforts. If these are neglected because they are not immidiate then it is possible that in future the planet may not remain habitable and humans may not also have any means of traveling to another safe place.

In sum, immidiate issues should be given higher priority than future problems, but future problems can be neglected. A proper balance should be maintained by government in assigning priority to issues considering their severety, probability of occurance and amount of effort required to solve them.