Claim : In any field- business, politics, education,government- those in power should step down after five years.

Reason : The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

While revitalization can serve well when an institution is not going well, it's not warranted that just bringing in a new face will ensure success of any organization. The claim also demands for change in leadership every five years. While there are both pros and cons of people staying in power for long which we will discuss ahead, what is more important is the

assessment of results produced by the leadership and its competency, not a random 5 year rule.

Firstly, frequent change in leadership will dwindle stability of any organization. As a saying goes, "Success comes from experience and experience comes from bad experience." People already in leadership have that experience. Bringing in new person just because of some random rule which demands change in leadership in every 5 years can hamper the momentum an organization is in. A better approach will be to assess & review accomplishments of any leadership continuously to ensure sound running of organization and take decision to whether continue with the same leadership or bring in new leadership based upon the review. It would have made no sense to fire Steve Jobs after the first five years without any assessment. As we all know the situation Apple faced when they did eventually fire Steve and the results he brought to Apple when he later rejoined. So, bringing in a new face just for the sake of bringing in a new face even when a company is running well will only bring instability into the company.

Secondly, even in politics, we have seen many leaders who have served for more than 5 years and have done really good. Barack Obama served for his second term as a president of USA and so is Xi Jinping serving his second term in China. Both the countries have done really well under their leadership which has lasted for more than 5 years. There are times in a country's reign when exemplary leaders serve them. Such moments must be cherished. The country will benefit a lot from

such leaders.

In contrast, long term leadership can sometime be harmful. When people stay in power for long, in order to have the hold on power they can bring in unsuitable situation in any country. Examples of dictatorship by Hitler and many other dictators are evidence of such acts.This is the very reason that most of the monarchies & dictatorships have now been replaced by democracy. Moreover, this is the very reason why leadership shall be placed under continuous review so that leadership will have the fear that if they don't perform well they will be replaced at any time. This will ensure that leadership is under the right hands.

In sum, changing leadership every five years just for the sake of bringing in change makes very little sense and will in contrast bring instability. There is also no warranty that an institution will perform better under new leadership especially when it's running properly in the first place. The right thing to do is to continuously review leadership and provide provision where it can be replaced upon incompetency to check any act of malice.