Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Scandals bring out unsought for problems that are existent in society & system. No society is flawless. Reformers and politicians are always advocating against problems that exist in any society. But, mostly such advocating will take years before the problems are solved or even tackled. When scandals occur, they drive the immediate attention of any government demanding for immediate action which normal advocating are not usually capable of.

Firstly, scandals are in itself unique situations that result when people act against a law. Most of these acts are previously unsought for, that's why they occur and take the larger shape garnering public attention. Scandals are different from mundane acts of forgery and homicide. They bring out gaps in law which people for years were taking advantage of, or situations involving misuse of power. There are many instances in which scandals often bring out the problems that were previously unsought for or even unknown.

Furthermore, scandals are exclusively covered by media demanding immediate attention and action from authority. In 2017, a scandal occurred in Nepal which made it's people think about the security of its only international airport. 33 kilograms of gold was smuggled in from Dubai only to get caught at the last exit point in the Tribhuwan International Aiport. Many questions were raised. How did the gold even pass all the preceding security? Whether airport officials were involved in it? Is it the only instance of security being breached through the airport? And is security at our only international airport reliable enough? This scandal brought in a lot of public attention forcing the government to take immediate action. The smugglers were caught and further investigation is going on.

Moreover, scandals bring out problems into the mass and are investigated in the greatest possible depth. Scandals demand action from authority which no advocating can. Outcomes from scandals and punishments all which are public also demotivate such actions in the future. Some may argue that speakers and reformers too bring out the problems in society. However, there are so many speakers and reformers demanding for many changes that they do not get the same amount of attention a scandal gets. A single country is engaged and affected by a scandal so is thoroughly scrutinized.

In sum, scandals though unfortunate to occur bring out some of the greatest flaws hidden in society. They bring about public attention and demand for immediate action from authority. Outcome and punishments to culprits of scandal demotivate such acts in the future. While reformers and speakers do advocate what's important backed by relevant research and data they find it difficult to gather enough public focus at the level which scandal does.