Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

At present, where there is continuous decline in biodiversity, protection of wilderness and biodiversity should remain any nations priority for sure. While passing laws to preserve wilderness areas in their state seems sensible, such laws should not be too stringent to forbid possible benefit from development works. To be clear, laws should be placed but should not be too stringent to overlook possible economic gains from development.

Firstly, all nations and civilizations have survived and evolved by utilizing natural resources that were available to them. Exploiting nature is a means of survival for almost all living creatures. What should not happen is over exploitation of resources. But when the question comes to the survival and fulfilling basic needs, utilizing nature is the most. Similarly, all great civilizations have developed at the expense of utilization of resources. In fact, in most cases we can see a direct correlation between development of a civilizations and its extensive utilization of natural resources.

Secondly, preservation of any wilderness should be considered taking into account how impactful it's conservation will be in terms of protecting biodiversity. Thus, laws should be placed based on cases.For example, there was an incident during the construction of Melamchi Drinking water project which is being constructed to supply water to almost 70 million residents of Kathmandu Valley in Nepal. Kathmandu has faced the problem of drinking water for decades. Almost half of it's population has no access to clean drinking water. The project aimed to bring relief to the people of Kathmandu Valley. The problem arose when one of the international agencies presented a report that constructing the project will almost eradicate a rare species of butterfly from the region. Now, such situation may arise where we must weigh the consequences of our actions before taking any decision. The relief that the project will the millions of people clearly outweighs the minor environmental consequence. Consequently, the project continued later.

Moreover, most of the countries have already taken measures to protect their biodiversity by categorizing places as national parks and wildlife reserves. We must concede that preservation of biodiversity is important. However, there are cases where we have seen that preservation of biodiversity & development have gone hand in hand.

In sum, I would like to conclude that biodiversity protection is important and we should take measures to protect endangered species of flora and fauna. But implementing stringent plans to protect every wilderness- many of which may not have much importance in terms of biodiversity at the expense of fulfilling basic needs of people will only put society at jeopardy & hinder development.