Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that
will prepare them for lucrative careers.
The statement emphasizes that universities must encourage students to choose fields of study that
will prepare them for lucrative careers. Lucrative careers can be a certain thing if one is opting
for lucrative jobs. However, in the field of business and social sciences the lucrative careers
will have very less significance. Further, doing so will undermine importance of other jobs
that are significant but not high paying , causing imbalance in the society.
Firstly, the idea of encouraging students to choose fields of study with lucrative career option
roots from the idea that earning more is more important than getting important things done. Not all
professions are lucrative. However, each and every profession has their social and economic
significance. Favouring certain jobs over other will not only cause imbalance in society but it
will be almost impossible to fit in all college graduates within a limited sector of jobs. Should
lucrative careers be the main focus for any person, most students should choose the field of
medical sciences over other as they pay the highest in general. However, there will never be
limitless amount of job vacancies that will suffice all. More significantly, doing so will
undermine other less paying jobs that are equally significant. For example, farming is a very
significant job throughout history that has always yielded less for farmers. Yet, without farmers
there will be no food served on ou plates.
Secondly, the role of any university is to make students able human beings - educated and
wise enough to take their own decisions regarding their career. Not all men are motivated by money,
many are driven by passion and an urge to get things done at first place. When universities guide
students just on the basis of lucrative job options, we can lose many great minds that would
otherwise have done great in their field of passion. For example, if ETH Zürich had persuaded
Einstein to get a degree in law because it paid great at that time, we would have lost one of the
greatest scientists that the world has ever known. Similarly, we could have lost many great minds
and great entrepreneurs if they were dissuaded away from their passion in search of lucrative and
secured career ahead. The job of any university should be rather to guide the student to discover
and follow his passion.
Finally, there are much more important things that a society must address than just finding its
youth secured jobs and universities being an part of it, should play a major role in
shaping students to solve these problems. World will only become better when we work collectively
towards noble causes one that will bring peace and prosperity and will secure our well-being as a
conscious species. Universities shall take steps in bringing up students with a sense of such
responsibilities rather than an urge for chasing money and secured life. We need more mavericks
like Elon Musk who bet all his fortune to speed up the advent of sustainable energy and reviving
humans innate desire to explore way beyond what's possible. As Robin Sharma says, " Seduction of
safety is much more dangerous than uncertainty of failure".
In sum, though having a good lucrative future is more attractive to many and university persuading
students to follow it seems a good thing in the short-term, it will cause chaos on the long run.
Less paying but significant works will be undermined. Moreover, doing so will dissuade people to
follow their passion at the cost of secured life and to try new things that will make the
world a better place to live.