Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Heroes are commonly chosen to be representatives of a nation or a society as they are believed to uphold distinctive qualities that mundane people long for. Therefore, it seems logical to hypothesize that the characters of a society could be distilled by simply examining those symbolic figures as a point of reference. I think, however, we should separate the concept of ‘heroes’ and ‘role model’ dependent on different stage of development or political situation though they are highly correlated and sometimes used interchangeably. By investigation the evident from historical and current context, the advent of a hero could be derived from the demands of rescue during social upheavals while role models are more commonly used in nowadays context.

From the war history, we could observe that the term ‘heroes’ were mostly attached to situations where people were desperately in demand for a savior, who possesses the quality of a warrior to ward off the evil force to restore peace for commoners. Responsively, heroic figures who demonstrate exceptional bravery and strategic mentality, were likely to be created to fulfill that desire of the general public. As a matter of fact, there is no lack of conspicuous examples in the recent history underpinning this assessment. During the Vietnam War, Ho Chi Minh with his outstanding personalities represents the resilient, brave and country-loving spirit has completely showcased the characteristic of the Vietnamese people.

In the society of peace and growth, heroes carry a different duty and meaning, which prone towards being the social role model or national image for the world. As the vibrant advancement of different fields and industries, who we consider role model nowadays is somehow dependent on our personal preference and area of interest. For instance, some would consider Bill Gates a role model because of his professional success and his philanthropic contribution while some might vote for famous politician like Hilary Clinton as she delegates a consensus ideology with her supporters. Despite the different measures for selecting role models, we could conclude that these role models are somehow a mirror of the preferred ideals for certain group of people.

The conclusion, however, should not be drawn imprudently. As people hold high regards to those who have been crafted as ‘hero’, their high pedestals could somehow be used for social conspiracy or political spam. With the immense power of social media, we could not ignore the fact that some heroes are merely false images created by social media to convince us that these political figures are trustworthy for our next vote. We could further elaborate this point with the example of Malaysian Prime Minister, in spite of the egregious controversy for bribery and misuse of public fund, he was shaped by social media to be the role model of the country as being charitable and caring towards it’s citizen. This particular individual, though, should not be regarded as representative of the characteristics for the entire Malaysia.

In conclusion, heroes and role models are both exceptional individuals, who has the potent to demonstrate the essential qualities of a country, yet have to be scrutinized diligently on case to case basis.