Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

For the complexity of modern society, many scholars and researchers are looking for something representative of a society to better understand the characteristic of it. Many favor the heroes and role models since they reveal a society's highest ideals. I strongly disagree with this point. The reasons are as follows.

First of all, these heroes may be chosen by the government or political leaders as a tool to promote their ideas and consolidate their status. From this point, these heroes can be said to reveal these political leaders' ideals at best, not the ideas of a society. Take Leifeng as an example, this so called hero was chosen by Chairperson Mao Zedong deliberately to educate people to sacrifice and serve the people. The Chinese government even concoct some facts to sanctify this hero, only to achieving their special political goals. Even in today this hero also has an important meaning for Chinese. But the ideals revealed by this hero, such as sacrifice or helping others at all expenses, are unrealistic and naive for us now. So some heroes like Leifeng are just political tools used by the governors and they cannot represent the true ideas of most people in the society.

In addition, heroes are people who do best in their fields and reveal the traits of a society in this field at best, not in all fields. For example, athletes who win the gold medals in Olympic games may be regarded as heroes without much doubt in almost any countries. Yet the worship towards these athletes only reveal people's wish to have a strong and fit body and live healthy. Other ideas, such as attitudes to education or knowledge are not revealed. The same is for scientists who make significant contributions in their own fields. They may represent the pursue for the knowledge and technology but not for the other respects. In this respect, examining heroes to understand a society may be biased or not comprehensible.

Furthermore, whatever contributions they make or success they obtain, heroes are individuals, and may be statistically unreliable at all. In order to better understand a society, more feasible and better way is to study the average people who occupy the most of the population. In China, many Chinese admire stars and actors who have a handsome or attractive appearance and treat them as heroes. However, these so called heroes are often very wealthy. Many of these heroes are even millionaires. Yet China is still a developing country and the revenues of most Chinese are much less than average people in American or Europe. If you examine these so called heroes, you may reach the conclusion that almost every Chinese are wealthy and live a luxrious lives, which is definitely ridiculous. Instead you will give the real understanding of China if you examine the workers, farmers and intellectuals who make a large percent of the population.

In conclusion, although heroes may indeed reveal a society's characteristic and ideals to in some specific ways, I oppose the claim that the best way to understand a society is to examine these heroes. For these heroes are likely to be the tools of government and they only represent some pursuits in their own fields. Instead the best way is to examine the most average people.