The age of the Internet is certainly how this century will be remembered. Apart from the myriad uses it has, few of the most popular are social media and blogs. These have revolutionised how we interact with one another and our discourse be it political, social or anything. Yes, thanks to these utilities of the Internet, we are more connected than ever before.

Before the emergence of the "blogosphere" and various social media portals such as Twitter, Facebook & Quora etc, most of the Americans were just passively consuming the political news. But now, many of them have a voice; Internet at their disposal to be active politically. This increase in the number of political opinions being aired owing to the ease of access of the platforms available is welcome and much needed. Political discourse is not like a broth that gets spoilt if there are too many cooks. It is rather something that should involve all citizens of a democracy. What good is democracy if it doesn't have a pluralistic political discourse?

With this fast changing scenario, the conventional news portals are also adapting their coverage of the political topics. For examples, a viewer can very easily and effectively convey their grievances or political opinions to the contesting candidates or elected representatives by simply tweeting to the news show handle. Though anyone can publish their political opinions easily, only those gain traction which have been articulated well and have substance. This is like an automatic quality check inherent to the blogs and other social media. Since multiple views are now available, the problems of every section of the society can be put forward. Hence, to say that the standards of news and political coverage will decline is quite a pessimistic view and far from reality.

In the times gone by, where printed books or newspapers were not available and when the radio did not exist, only the rich and powerful could hijack the political discourse. Similar scenario existed until recently, when the television and Internet became main-stream. But thankfully, with the advent of the blogoshpere, one doesn't have to be a royal to be a part of the political discourse. Pushing ulterior motives and unquestioned populist propaganda, which make for a poor quality and misleading political discourse or news, can be tackled much easily in the “blogosphere” and social media. Be it Clinton or Sanders or even Trump, all of them have pretty much the same reach to the electorate and vulnerability to being questioned despite the differences in their campaigns and funding levels, thanks to the social media.

In a nutshell, the political discourse has become a lot of more inclusive and is of superior quality due to the participation of ordinary citizens. USA being a democracy, not having a political dialogue that engages citizens in an active way is how I would indentify ‘poor quality’ of news. Barring a few exceptions like trolls, the political discourse is definitely richer as a result of more and more people being involved in it.