some people believe that increasing violence in the media is the cause of increasing violence in our society, especially among children. Others believe that the children's peer groups and parental role models are a much more powerful influence on children's behavior

Our personality and beliefs are shaped by a myriad of factors that we are exposed to and experiences that we have. So, saying that only the increasing violence in media is responsible for increase in violence especially among children would be an oversimplification. Media is like a mirror to the society and the world. Its prime purpose is to report the happenings around the world and also to allow the discussion regarding these happenings. If the violence around is going up, can we really blame the media for also showing more violent content? It cannot be denied that, one might get influenced by what we see in the media, especially the impressionable children. But that is not enough to treat the violence shown in the media as the prime cause of increasigly violent behaviour amongst children. However, the media must strongly condemn the violence that they show and display discretionary messages to allow the adults to restrain their kids from watching very violent content and get impacted by it. Yes, media does influence us and the children, but even when a robust media was not present, was violence not going up?

The answer to this will be no and hence my view more closely aligns with the belief that peer gourps and parental role models are a much powerful influence on the children's behaviour. Children are like sponges that absorb what they see around them and mimick that behaviour. They cannot exercise as much judgement as an adult can. So, parental role models with who the children spend the maximum time in their formative years have a great impact on their behaviour and beliefs. One can curb the media content consumed by a child but how can they be protected from violent or passive agressive parents? So, if I child see his or her parents shouting, using physical violence or other violent behaviour, subconsciosly since a tender age, the child also takes in this behaviour and starts to display it. And owing to the fast paced lives, increasing economical inequalities, fluctuating market scenarios etc overall levels of frustation and anger among us are higher and this manifesting itself in the form of increasing violent behaviour. This in turn, is increasing the violence amongst children too.

Even peer groups like children have a direct impact on the children's behaviour. Aftet their parents, a child spends the maximum time with his or her peers in school etc. Peer pressure is widely acknowledged as a potent influence on children and teenagers. Even the games popular among children these days have very violent content taht is glorified and exposure to this can be attributed to the surge in violent behaviour by children.

Children naturally tend to trust and get influenced by the direct exposure to violent behaviour by their parents and peer group more than the indirect influnces such as media.