Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

The speaker claims that even though young people are consistently suggested to follow their dreams, they should select their goals wisely. The reason behind the above claim is that many people are inherently selfish in setting their goals. I agree with the speaker's claim, on the contrary, the reason mentioned is argumentative. Certainly, any person should pick worthy goals, but the price of a goal is always subjective. For example, any human dreams to be a responsible personality, fundamentally speaking, the Cheif Minister of any state is the most responsible personality of that particular state, and the similar holds for the country. If that fellow picks a goal to become the Chief Minister, then his goal is judged as worthy.

Apparently, when choosing and wants come in to frame the scenario becomes enigmatic. Consider a person's dream is to become an influential personality and pick acting as his goal or choice to achieve his/her dreams. Statistically, in the view of current society that choice is considered selfish and only relates to fame. But, society forgets that fame and admiration for a person make him/ her an influential personality. The choice of his goal depends on what he/ she wants and may be depending on their respective skills, behavior, compatibility, etc. So, reasoning or criticizing that as selfish is merely trivial.

Apparently, selfish is an obvious terminology to be happy. Explicitly speaking, if any altruistic person donates many things to the needy and portrays himself to be benevolent, here that particular person is serving and satisfying people so that it provides him/ her peace of mind, and happiness. As he is performing all these activities for his happiness, hence he can be called selfish. So, if the reason is rephrased as 'people's dreams should not cost any sort of tranquility of any other individual'.

In sum, I hereby clearly state and concede with the speaker's claim that there should be more emphasis on picking worthy goals so that no person should step back at the point of paying prices. But, as mentioned the reason stated and being selfish is merely subjective, and I seriously condemn the reason stated by the speaker.