Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Dreams are nothing but an inspirational direction to achieve a goal. Everybody should have a right to choose or see the dream and try to achieve it. But there some exceptions to it. Thus agree with the statement given. The dreams should not have been immature. There must have been a good and appropriate goal behind it.

One should not dream that gives torture to anybody. take an example of terrorists, they have been brain washed to see the dream. The reason behind that dream is to give trouble to the other people. The motive is harmful. The selfish motive behind the dream is completely wrong.

Moreover, adults should not pick up a dream in a hurry if it is going to decide the future. There must be a proper guidance behind it. Being an engineer I have seen many people. Students ,while entering the college , picked up a course which is trending in a market. But they have not find it interesting to study. They end up feeling regret on the decision they took. So it is necessary that there must be a proper guidance behind it. They also need to check if they are really interested in doing this or not. They can take an advice from the industry experts for choosing the field so that they can have an idea of what is the reality.

The reason behind the dreams should not be selfish. The doctor should not have a motive to earn money. He or she should have a motive to serve the people. Otherwise the doctor end up collecting the money and the motive of serving the people will not fulfill. This is actually bad for the society.

Thus, the goal behind choosing the dream should not have been selfish, immature or bad for the society. There must have been a proper guidance while choosing a dream.