Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which

I tend to disagree with the above mentioned statement. Though those who agree with the argument would suggest the negative impacts on society of pursuing individual’s dreams, the advantages of following individual’s dream outweigh the benefits of following worthy goals.

First, I agree with reason supporting the statement. Surely, many people’s dreams would be selfish since without selfish motivation, people would not willing to act. For instance, Those who want to run a business may have their own selfish goals such as earning money as possible as they can. Even for those who are volunteering for the poor, they often say that they would obtain happiness or a sense of satisfaction when they help others. Thus, while I agree with the reason, but I do not agree with the statement. I do not think so that the reason does support the argument well.

Of course, it would be desirable for all people to pursue socially worthy goals rather than selfish dreams. If all enteprenuers tried to keep social responsibilitieis such as protection of natural environment, it would be helpful to build a better society. But, due to the reason mentioned above, it would rarely happen. Nonetheless, it does not mean that more emphasis should be placed on following worthy goals. As Adam Smith puts it, invisible hands allows market to work appropriately. Even though people follow their own selfish goals, it would leads to postive impacts on society. For instance, those who research natural sciences would study just because they get satisfied whey they discover something new in the world not because of big obejctive to make a better society. BUt, their discoveries will leads to better society anyway. Furthermore, film directors would make a new film for their private purpose. BUt, moives they made sometimes calls attention for a social issue.

Last but not least, the term “worhty goals” is too vague. Who decides whether the goal is worthwhile or not? SOmetimes, even the goal that seems socially unworthy and extermely selfish could become worthwhile in the future. For example, the dream of being a musician was regarded as a unworhty goal in the past in Korea due to the social discrimination towards music entertainment. However, thesedays many pop-stars have became role models for many children and the music entertainment industry has been one of the biggest significant markets in the world. Nobody knows which goal is worthy or not. Therefore, there would be no collision between following own dreams and worhty goals.

To sum up, I still stands my initial position after considering the reason suggested. I disagree with the statement though I fully agree with reason trying to support that arugment since the reason does not guarantee the higher precedence of pursuing worthy goal than private dreams.