To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

The argument claims that studying major cities is needed to figure out the most important features of a community. I agree with the argument in that major cities are good place to see curreent socioeconomic status in a community and there are relatively many people stay there.

Of course, it is ideally desirable to see all cities and counties to understand the features of a society. other than the major cities, it is undeniable that small regions are a member of a community and represent some dimension of a society. since even small counties have their own characteristics, studying only major cities other than small regions cannot fully explain the whole characteristics of a society. Nonetheless, major cities are given to precedence to be studied prior to minor regions.

First, while looking at major cities, it is easy to see the current economic and social trends. For example, when you see seoul in South korea, you would easily find a myriad of academic institutions and plastic surgery clinics. The former may represent the excessive educational fever and the latter shows lookism or discrimination of appearance. So, many people visit seoul to obtain better education training and have more beautiful apperance since it is very difficult to find them in the other areas. To study the korean culture especially in conjunction with education or lookism, you need to study seoul.

Furthermore, major cities tend to have many population with extremely high population density relative to other areas. Intuitively, since big cities generally account for higher proportion of the national population, the residents in that cities can be representative to the society. Also, the culture have a tendency to spread very fast due to development of telecommunication technologies. For instance, in korea, half of the total population live in near seoul, the capital. Suppose people in seoul enjoy youtube and it is the one of the major features of korean people. Then, the preference for youtube might spread to other regions. Thus, we do not have to have an additional study on youtube in other small areas. Instead, we can say that nowadays young people tend to enjoy on youtube after studying the people's behavior in seoul.

To sum up, even though it is good to study all regions, practically it is more effective to study major cities to understand the features of a society.