Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

One of the major challenges to present modern society is preservation of native cultural traditions which is slowly being eclipsed by contemporary belief and so-called modern views of people. The prompt focuses on this problem but limits its view only to the major city areas. I mostly disagree with the claim and the reason presented above and present two case where the claim is significantly not valid. However, I concede that in certain circumstances the claim is good and the reason it has presented is true.

It is obvious that the traditions are not only limited in the major cities and providing financial support to the major cities only cannot comprehensively preserve these ancient traditions. For example, focusing attention only on major cities like Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai by the government of India opaque its view to Ayodhya, the birthplace of Lord Ram who is one of the sacred characters of Hindu religion. The traditions and cultural heritage of city area must also be preserved. But keeping these city areas in primary list is totally gibberish. Support by the government including the financial support must not be determined by how major the city is but by where the tradition is being endangered. The places where tradition is in verge of extinct must receive primary support from central body.

Also, we call a city major because it is sophisticated in terms of infrastructures and it has a strong economy. To preserve the tradition the heritage site the city independently can fund itself and does not require so much primary attention from the central government. The part of the country which requires and eye of the government is the bucolic areas where the tax rates are low and economy of the part is not good. These pastoral areas have the limited fund for them to run daily administration and cannot direct toward preserving of the tradition; when government becomes a patron to these areas economically it becomes much easier for the local body for conducting activities that preserves the local tradition.

Nevertheless, some major cities of the country are considered as important because of the tradition and heritage site located there. So, government must support these cities to preserve what makes them crucial otherwise they will lose their importance. For example, Mecca Medina of Saudi Arabia is famous for Muslims all around the world. It is an important pilgrimage site of Muslims. Saudi government must surely allocate a large fund to this city for its cleaning, renovation of old construction, management of visitors and also to support holy people who have devoted themselves to the place. Preservation of these important places and support to them must be a first in order priority of the government of the country.

Finally, it can be concluded that economical support to preserve the tradition must not be determined by how major a city is but by the status of tradition of a certain place is and the significance of the tradition not only to the country but the world.