Claim: Imagination is a more valuable asset than experience.

Reason: People who lack experience are free to imagine what is possible without the constraints of established habits and attitudes.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

More and more novel technologies come into the world every-day, resulting from innovative minds exploring solutions to various problems. The prompt claims that imagination is more of a valuable asset than experience, as people who are not bound by the limitations of habits inherited through experiences can have a different perspectives. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the claim by due to three reasons mentioned below.

To begin, for a moment if we ask ourselves why do companies stress on the diversity hiring. It is because, as the company customers using the product are diverse, it needs various opinions about the product the company sells to its diverse customers. One such component of the diversity are interns, they do form important part of the company as they provided fresh eyes on the established protocols and inner workings of the company. For example, in programming a developer always follows a certain conventions without really asking why? The conventions which maybe introduced a long time may not be applicable under current situations at all. But when a fresh mind such as intern, questions the reasoning behind the conventions, it is then one really contemplates about it and thinks the validity in the current situation.

Secondly, if we consider the case for scientists, yes they need to have knowledge and working of the basic fundamentals of the science. But if we look into the new theories and experiments being conducted every-day, do they really make use of this previous experience in-order to come up with the new ideas or they use their imaginative thinking. For example, if we consider the Einstein’s theory of relativity, Einstein did not rely on the established principles or attitudes in science while developing the theory, instead it was his imaginative thinking which helped him. Einstein’s theory now, not only disproves some of the previously established science principles, but also opens up many new areas of science for explorations, which would not have been possible without innovative thinking.

On the contrary, in some situation experience does matter the most instead of the innovative thinking. For example, if we consider a scenario of a terrorist attack on a place, where they have held many people hostages. The military services involved in the rescue operations must be sophisticated enough to deal with such situations, which can be got through experience alone, yes, the innovation does help to some extent in the improvisation of the situation but it the is the experience they have accumulated throughout many years in their careers will play an important roles in such a situation.

Of course many people would argue experience matters most as person spends many years accumulating it and no amount of innovativeness can overcome it, but we should not forget many of the major leaps in human history have occurred due to the innovation. To conclude, the experience is does provide us with the established habits and conventions we can follow day to day, but parallelly we should not forget how valuable of an asset is free imagination.