Claim: Imagination is a more valuable asset than experience.

Reason: People who lack experience are free to imagine what is possible without the constraints of established habits and attitudes.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

people without imagination are merely machines. without the ability to create a different world inside our brains, free of constraints, and sometimes logic, we would not be able to accomplish a lot of things as humans. The prompt claims that imagination is a more valuable asset than experience. however, in my opinion that is not the case. I disagree for two main reasons.

First of all, the prompt claims that imagination is more valuable due to the fact that people wanting experience are free of the constraints of habits and attitudes, that may be true, but the lack of experience will cost them knowledge of the applicability of the idea. If we imagined a six-year-old child free of any constraint the real world may have on his or her ideas, we might find the craziest and most absurd of ideas a human brain may come up with. that does not mean that these ideas are of any use in the real world. experience in there situation help the person to analyze the idea. The previous example shows that lack of experience may not always lead to useful ideas.

Second of all, the prompt argues that experience (in a way) lead to lack of creativity, due to the exposure of entrenched habits and attitudes from the environment. that may not be the case, but I would argue that it is the complete opposite. experience in a field will most certainly lead to exposure to other related (and sometimes unrelated) fields. this exposure will help the experienced worker understand the issues and problems workers in other fields face and how they approach it, which will give him or her new ideas that may be useful in his or here field. By looking at the field of scientific research we can recognize a pattern in novel ideas, they are almost always influenced by different research fields. The aforementioned example illustrates how experience can cause creativity by exposure to the established norms.

One might argue that a lot of the creations we use today derives from wild imaginations. this may be true, however, the development of the idea under established and tested rules is the reason this idea became more than an abstract thought. it is the collective experience of hundreds of scientific generations who laid down the route for these ideas to become a reality.