a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The idea behind the creation of governments is arguably one of humanities greatest achievements. it is the defying mark between us and other living creatures. The government of any country has a responsibility to its citizens to provide them with the best education possible for the good of the individuals and the population. many nations require all students to follow the same curriculum, one might argue that it has many benefits to it. one may be the easy analysis of the whole system, and many other. While I believe that is true I think it will be at the cost of many other things. I believe that requiring all students to study the same curriculum throughout primary and secondary schools is bad to the overall performance of the educational system, for two main reasons.

human knowledge has advanced exponentially over the last centuries. information that might have made a scholar in the 16’th century be the talk of the people is now taught for 6th graders. this indicate that it’s hard to include every possible piece of information into the curriculum. it may be a waste of time for many students to study about the law of thermal induction, since this student might not have any interest in pursuing a career in science. So, if it is a part of the curriculum then the system is requiring students to study something they have no interest in. where on the other hand, a lot of students may have the interest in pursuing a career in a STEM field, where studying the law of thermal induction is of good use. if either of these scenarios are true, then requiring students to study the same subject or removing it (for example) is harmful to either one.

Furthermore, scientific studies have shown that happiness and real interest in the subjects taken is a deciding factor in the overall performance of students, and may have devastating affects on the mental health of students. if governments decide to require the same curriculum with any flexibility, we are at the risk of raising an entire generation with many problems. if we imagine a student who has no interest in learning about Fourier’s law or Einestien’s rule of integration and differentiation. this student may lose interest in the educational system as a whole and may decide to abandon the educational route all together.

education is a critical factor in the development of nations. Therefore, it requires massive care. Ministers and politicians should have the interest of the students put into account when making decisions about the future of them. Several aspects should be considered before making any decision affecting the whole educational system.