Heroes have been made of men and women since ancient Egypt or Greece, if not even earlier. They are the symbols which we strive to emulate. We admire and hail Noah for his belief and diligence, Einstein for his wits, Galileo for his discoveries etc. Through the ages, several people have been hailed as heroes and their deeds have been engraved into the history of mankind. No matter the age, even today, people will continue and look up to the individuals they admire as heroes. Unless these people who are hailed as heroes have done something grave that erases everything redeemable they have done up until now, the media cannot make their status as heroes vanish.

The statement portrays media to be an entity which scrutinizes the people we hail as heroes. Granted, that most media outlets tend to like juicy stories which slander people as these will attract more attention. However, media also helps in spreading their good deeds or respectable actions. Without the media, we would neither know who Elon Musk is and his amazing contributions in the field of clean energy and automated driving nor would we know of the contributions of BIll Gates in helping the world get rid of pernicious diseases such as polio or malaria. Reading such articles not only spreads the word of their actions but also inspires many people to work more diligently in order to achieve something great.

Even if the media scrutinizes someone for their actions, it does not mean their reputation has diminished. Consider Steve Jobs, for example, he faced a lot of scrutiny from the media regarding the birth of his daughter and his exit from Apple. Yet after he passed away, he was hailed a hero by many. However, if the actions of those individual were grave enough, then their reputations will diminish. For instance, Pablo Escobar was hailed a hero by the Venezuelans; he was even running in the elections to lead the country. However, once it was revealed that he was dealing in drugs, he faced great scrutiny from the press and his reputation was tarnished.

To summarize, no matter what age we live in, people will be hailed as heroes. The media serves to both glorify these individuals for their noble actions and scrutinize them for their ignoble ones. For an individual to be hailed as a hero, his noble actions should far outweigh his ignoble ones.