Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Reason: The world today is significantly more complex than it was even in the relatively recent past.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The past has a significant influence on human lives. Past experiences shape human values, outlook and decision making ability. It is claimed here that the past knowledge is unable to assist people in making important decisions today. The underlying reason behind this assertion is that the world has become much more complex. Though the reasoning is quite valid, I mostly disagree with the claim with three supporting facts.

Firstly, lives of people in all ages is more or less display the same picture. Human beings go through different obstacles and suffereings in different times of life. The exact story of people may be different in different eras, but the pith or the bigger picture is quite similar. Sufferings of one time can teach people in later times about the causes, impact and ways to abate those. For example, the US faced a great economic hardship and downfall after the second world war, calling it the great depression. Similar economic situation aroused in the last decade of this century. But the past experience certainly helped people and government to take steps in elevating the situation. This depicts that past knowledge is certainly salubrious to people's lives.

In addition, the basic steps in mitigating a difficult milieu remains the same in all times. After all, we are human beings, the basic nature are all constant. If we examine the history of pandemics, we learn that even experts of those times prescribed isolation and forbade people to travel to one city from another. This helped the people in controlling the spread of the disease. The corona virus pandemic, even in this more complex world of the twenty-first century, calls into action the same solution that people adopted about four hundred years ago. Clearly, past teachings are a boon in this time.

Lastly, people's personal lives are also influenced by past experiences and decisions. Teachings and moral values ate like heritages, which flow from one generation to another. The lessons one get from his or her father or mother assists in shaping a child's life, ability to make decisions. The hardships one's parents face, are very likely that same situation will come to the child's life, whether be it in financial, conjugal or work life. After all, there is nothing new under the sun. Further, the lessons one get in his younger age, is reflected in a person's later life.

It is true that the world is getting more complex. Technology and businesses, corporate and political aspects, all are becoming convoluted. People are getting involved in extricable rush of this modern world. The scenario if the world, news involving social media was unthinkable even i the past decade. But the overly generalised assertion that past knowledge is unable to influence people in making decisions is unwarranted. Despite the complex nature, the basic stories are alike which make learnings from the previous time applicable in this world.