Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Reason: We are not able to make connections between current events and past events until we have some distance from both.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Sometimes looking back to the mistakes made in past, can lead to making effective decisions in the present. The past experiences can help us to evaluate the current situation better, and hence lead to an improved decision making power which will sometimes have a positive effect on individual. However, in most cases when past events tends to have a negative effect on that person, it is prudent to have disregard for the past events and focus more on the current scenario as we need to maintain some distance between the two .Hence I partially agree with the author's claim that since we cannot make a connection between the past events and the current ones until we keep a distance between the two,therefore past cannot help make people to make important decisions today.

Firstly,looking back at the past experiences is what makes people realize any mistakes that have happened before and thus deliberate the current scenario and accordingly, take better decisions.When we have to deal with a situation which is similar in many aspects to that happened in the past, we can easily correlate between them and hence make a much improved and effective decision.For instance,when two nations have some kind of hostility between them, that increases to such an extent that, one of them decides to attack the other by armed forces, then this would create a situation analougous to that of the word war two that was held in 1945.The countries that have decided to create this kind of war can base their decisions based on the previous events.By looking at the previous wars they can probably get aware of the fact that such wars results into nothing but mass destruction and is categorically futile.Thus they can make the decsions accordingly, and instead of a war, find some other means that could restore the friendly relations among them.

However,in contrast to the above statement, sometimes past experiences can incite a negative feeling in an individual, which can hamper his decision making power to a large extent.Futhermore, its nescessary to have distance between both the present and past events in this case.For instance, a badminton player had to experience lots of negative experiences in the past related to her childhood which had made her lose the confidence and determination to fight.In present scenario when she has regained her confidence back and is ready to make important decisions such as playing in the olympics, then she must not let her past expereinces meddle with the current ones, to prevent any kind of negative impact on her decsions.

To sum up,unless the past experiences have a negative impact on the person's mind, its always beneficial to look back into the past events and evaluate your decsions.To determine correlation between both of them, can lead to much efficient decisions which could lead to even greater and satisfactory results in life.