Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Everyday, media reports raft of problems in modern society: racism, non-equality, transgender issue, terrorist attack, etc. The author's claim is that many of stated problems cannot be solved by laws and legal system. He supports his argument by reasoning that people's heart or minds are immutable by laws. Indeed, modern society laws or legal system does not have resolutions for myriad problems it faces, however, I disagree on generalizing the reasoning for the claim. Further, not all problem's resolutions needs change in minds of people.

Modern society has evolved over the past centuries by amending or framing new laws and policies to counter attack the problems it faces. For example, abolishing slavery or equality for all or providing basic necessity of education for all citizens.

Abraham Lincoln stated "All men are equal" and established law to abolish slavery. Although the law was established decades back, proponents may claim that even today they see racism in United States of America. However, in reality, considering statistics to find number of people who are getting discriminated over the decades, it is clearly observable that the racism is declining. This implies, some laws needs its time to inculcate among citizens' mind and heart to slowly bring the change.

On the other hand, laws like equal opportunity for all students irrespective of caste, creed, place,etc to pursue education saw an immediate impact. The law provided platform for universities to improve education standards and assisted in developing economy of United States of America without needing any or slight change in minds of people.

To conclude, it is true that it is hard to change the people's mind or heart but it is not impossible by adding laws. Also, law on equality for education proves that not all laws needs change in people's heart or minds.